My thoughts, opinions, and whatnots.

“One Of Us”

I don’t know why I thought of this but I thought of this movie that I had to watch for my Freaks and Monsters class. Anyway, the movie was Tod Browning’s 1932 Freaks. The movie was about this traveling circus that has people that have physical conditions. Anyway, in the wedding scene, everybody but Cleopatra, the trapeze artist/bride, Hans, the little person/groom, and Hercules, the Strongman/Cleo’s lover, were chanting “one of us” because they accepted Cleopatra as one of them. Anyway, the point that my teacher brought up was the same as my Phantom of the Opera/Beauty and the Beast post. The movie influenced other types of media. One case is I, Robot. The scene that I’m referring to is when Sonny is running from Will Smith’s character. When Sonny is running, he hides himself in the huge group of robots. When Will’s character questions the robots, they were like “one of us” in regards to Sonny. I, Robot is not the only movie that was influenced by Freaks. I didn’t know this but there was a South Park episode and Pinhead by the Ramones that makes references to the movie. Anyway, I just found it interesting. Oh, and for more information on Freaks, you can go to this website.

gooble gobble

South Park

Leave a comment