My thoughts, opinions, and whatnots.

Spellcaster Review

So, this is my second book review for this week, although I finished the book last week. So, the book that I’m going to review is Spellcaster by Claudia Grey. I have to say that I liked the basic premise of the book where the main character, who is a witch, comes to a “new” town and sees that the town has magic all of it. The main character tries to figure out why this town has so much magic in it. Anyway, like I said, I like the premise but I didn’t like a few things about it. What I mean by that is that I thought the characters and the plot were not as well developed as I would like to have seen as well the fact that the points-of-view change within the chapters. As for the development of the characters, I don’t know if it’s just because it’s the first book or if it’s because the author didn’t think everything through. I also felt that the author left me asking more questions that I had answers for in terms of plot and characters, which I will put at the end of this post. As for the points-of-view changing several times within a huge chapter, I would much rather see the points-of-view divided into smaller chapters as they changed as opposed to having many different points-of-view in one huge chapter. Anyway, I would recommend this book if you don’t mind the stuff I mentioned. And here are the questions that I had from reading the book, but don’t go any further if you haven’t read the book yet.

  • How does Nadia know so much about witchcraft if she is only half-trained? Did Nadia’s mother start training her when she was young?
  • Why did Nadia’s mother leave Nadia’s father?
  • Why didn’t Nadia’s mother train Nadia more or introduce her to other witches if she knew she was going to leave Nadia’s father?
  • How did Nadia figure out that Elizabeth was a witch when Nadia hadn’t met any other witch other than her own mother? And how did Nadia know that Elizabeth was stronger than any living witch, for the same reason?
  • How do spells work? Are they just “general” incantations that the witch says with her own unique memories and charms?
  • What’s the difference between a witch and a Sorceress? Is a Sorceress just a witch gone extremely bad?
  • How did Nadia remember her confrontation with Elizabeth if Elizabeth made her forget the confrontation?
  • Why did Elizabeth target the Cabot family? Is there something special about the Cabots that made them excellent people to carry a curse? Or was it something that the first cursed Cabot did to Elizabeth that made her curse the entire Cabot family?
  • Why did Elizabeth kill Verlaine’s parents? Did they see or hear something that they weren’t to see or hear? And why did that affect Verlaine’s hair? Was Verlaine there when her parents were killed and the graying of Verlaine’s hair was an unfortunate side-effect? And why did Elizabeth cast a spell on Verlaine so that Verlaine was socially invisible to the town’s student population?
  • Spellcaster

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

